Glenn Beck, The Conservative’s Obama?

This past weekend as many of you know Glenn Beck unveiled The Plan which essentially challenges Americans to rise up and be the real conservative leaders that we don’t currently have and focus on education. The Plan culminates with a book and a rally in Washington on August 28, 2010.  Many critics on the Left have said this is proof that he only cares about selling books, and some Republicans are concerned with his cries for a third party.

But I’m not particularly interested in any of that. With all of Beck’s talk about community organizing, and the way people flock to him (did you see how many people showed up at The Villages?) I’m starting to believe that Beck is the Right’s cult of personality, the way Obama is the Left’s. I mean within a matter of minutes Saturday, the Glenn Beck faithful on Twitter were freaking out over the revelation of this new 100 year plan. But there are other similarities between the two as well, Obama had the fainters, Beck has the criers. Both Beck and Obama are great orators that move the masses to action whether it’s over hope and change or The 9/12 Project. Both have very strong opinions about this country and both want to take our country to a new place. They are extremely controversial and passionately hated by their enemies. But the similarities are mainly expressed by the way people follow these two men without question and with a fervor that I am sure must be reminiscent of Jesus Christ. Their followers expect these men to work miracles.

Now don’t get me wrong. I’m no Glenn Beck hater, in fact I’ve listened to his radio show for years. I’ve bought his  books, and I watch his TV show every once in while, when I can.  And right now, if I had to choose between Obama’s future for our country or Beck’s, it’s Beck’s all day. But that doesn’t mean that I won’t stop questioning him or his motives. I mean he is still human after all.

-Hannaloves27

One Response to Glenn Beck, The Conservative’s Obama?

  1. greg says:

    one of the best you’ve written hannah! I could not agree more!

Leave a Reply

