Hanna’s Hotties and Notties: The Poets

Al Gore vs. Walt Whitman

I was beyond ecstatic when I learned that Al Gore read aloud his poetry of the apocolypse.  I just couldn’t wait to get home to bask in the greatness of his poetical genius. Ah yes, it’s not often one man can brag that he is best-selling author, Oscar winner, Nobel Prize winner, and Vice-president. And now, I think we must surely add Pulitzer Prize Winner to his list of accomplishments in the near future based on this heartbreaking work he so humbly created. Indeed it was a work that poured out a place of pain, of fear, and of love for our great mother earth. Wow, I am humbled just to live in the same state that birthed such magnificent greatness. If you can stand to listen, I beg you. You will be moooooved.

Gross. Seriously though, why don’t we contrast that crap from Nottie Al G. with some real poetical beauty from the likes of one of my favorites, freedom fighter Walt Whitman.

Pioneers! Oh Pioneers!

Come my tan-faced children,
Follow well in order, get your weapons ready,
Have you your pistols? have you your sharp-edged axes?
Pioneers! O pioneers!

For we cannot tarry here,
We must march my darlings, we must bear the brunt of danger,
We the youthful sinewy races, all the rest on us depend,
Pioneers! O pioneers!

Leave a Reply

