Esperanza Part II

WHY?

 

HOPE

 A child falls in the heat of the day
Dusty, Dirty
It is scorching in the barrio, the broken beaten barrio.
He begins to cry
Not only is he hungry, tattered, frail
But now he is hurt, a scratch on his arm
I see a need, bring him water
Clean, Cool
It washes dirt from his wound
I dry his eyes, his little scratch too
-Let me kiss it, make the pain go away-
A sheepish smile, a grimy grin slowly spreads
-Gracias!-
And off he shoots
Playing, Healed
At least for now in the barrio, the broked beaten barrio.
But watching silently by, big brother notices the deed
The small, the insignificant deed
And he is touched
He too is dusty, dirty
He too is hungry, tattered, frail
But he has hope in his eyes
Questioning, Searching
-How can you love us, why do you care?-
-You are special- I reply
He is thankful and he clings to me
And for a moment
WE ARE RESTORED
Hopeful, a glimpse of Zion
I don’t want to let him go
There in the barrio, the broken beaten barrio.
I sit on the bus
Pondering, Reflecting
Determining in my heart that he will stay
An alter made
I will remember him,  his tender soul
His hope-filled eyes
And I pray
-God please watch over him tonight
Keep him safe in the barrio, the broken beaten barrio.-

-Johanna

Leave a Reply

