I’m Taking a Break

You see, the thing is, over the past several months I have been going through a sort of pre-mid-life crisis. I’ve come to a place in my life where all the sudden I don’t really know who I am or what I’m supposed to do. It’s kinda scary at age 30 and not something I’m used to. I’ve always been a very decisive person, sure of every decision I’ve ever made in regard to my life.

If I’m quite honest with myself, I have taken my focus off God and put it on myself and ironically, in the process, lost who I am.  So I’m taking the time to put my focus back where it should be. That’s the only way I know to truly live. 

Thanks so much to Dan Collins who has so graciously let me post at his site over the past several months. And thanks to everyone who has read my site and commented. It means so much.  If you’re interested in reading about my spiritual journey (or whatever you would call it) you can find me here.

God Bless,

-Johanna

5 Responses to I’m Taking a Break

  1. KillTruck says:

    I’m very interested in reading about your spiritual journey, and I understand why you need to take a break.

  2. Enoch_Root says:

    can I recommend a couple of books? I can? ok – well, two or three.

    1) Confessions – St. Augustine
    2) Ascent of Mt Carmel – St. John of the Cross
    3) Dialogue – St. Catherine of Sienna

    I will pray for your deliverance

    God speed, Johanna.

    • Johanna says:

      Thank you Enoch! I’ve read different parts of Confessions. St. Augustine is one of my dad’s favorites. I’ll check out the others too. God bless!

  3. Catholic Cowboy says:

    Johanna:

    I’m not sure if you’re still reading here, but just in case I thought I’d drop you a note. First, congratulations on recognizing where you are, and maybe more importantly where you should be.

    If I can offer any advice, it would be this: imagine your ideal relationship with God, and then behave as if you had already accomplished it.

    Whenever I feel myself slipping away from the Church, I try to start behaving more like a Catholic. I go to daily Mass, say a novena, stuff like that.

    I guess what I’m trying to say is that in my case–and maybe in yours too–my heart follows the rest of me.

    Hope this is of some help and I will keep you in my prayers and follow you on your journey as much as possible.

    Yours,

    Mathew

Leave a Reply

